Contact THE CUP

Don't be shy.  Say G'day!

Adelaide, SA, 5000

0405 255 905



The 2015 Dhani Riehl Medallist for most outstanding enthusiasm; David Blumbergs.

 Live Commentary by Lori Bell, Sose Fuamoli, Koral Chandler (player) and Soph McKay

Live Commentary by Lori Bell, Sose Fuamoli, Koral Chandler (player) and Soph McKay


The Boxing Day Cup sprang out of the need for the highly-intertwined musical and hospitality communities to get together over the Christmas period and catch up with one another. We just spiced it up with a cricket match, a load more banter and put some serious bragging rights up for grabs.

The Cup provides an opportunity for expat musicians and bartenders to reconnect, but also offers the people of Adelaide an alternative to laying on the couch watching that 'other' cricket match on Boxing Day. Punters also have the chance to say g'day to the musicians they've heard performing around the city and to have a chat to the visionaries behind some of Adelaide's favourite venues.

The cup began in 2013 when The Rockatoos were within a semitone of stealing an inaugural victory from an Eagle Blues line-up desperate to proudly display the cup in their respective bars. They came back from the gaping jaws of defeat with a performance that was equal parts courage, grit and determination, only to fall short of taking the win with the match ending in a tie. The twelve months that ensued saw both teams lick their wounds, practice their off spin, cultivate their moustaches and steel themselves for a game that was guaranteed to thrill to the core.

The 2014 iteration of the Cup, held for the first time in Bonython Park, was won in dramatic circumstances by The Rockatoos, following a controversial final over that ultimately left The Eagle Blues needing a 6 off the remaining ball.

View the full scorecard from the 2014 Boxing Day Cup here.

The 2015 Cup couldn't have been any more one-sided with The Eagle Blues proving their off-season recruiting drive was worth the money. Winning the toss, they sent The Rockatoos in to bat and a controversial LBW call led 2014 hero Oisima down the path of distraction (he later dropped three easy catches in the outfield). The Rockatoos were lucky to get to triple figures with Captain Aaron Nash putting in a valiant effort in the middle order.

The Eagle Blues eased to victory, with Josh Dolman the stand out performer and David Blumberg winning the most outstanding enthusiasm for the day.

In 2016 it was time for Adelaide's fourth most popular keyboardist and captain of The Rockatoos, Aaron Nash, to shine. His tactics to bat first, coupled with a well drilled fielding performance led the musicians to their second victory, with Rachel Cearns & Kaurna Cronin the stand-out performers in the field and with the bat.

View the full scorecard from the 2016 Boxing Day Cup here.

In 2017 the word on the street was that The Rockatoos would be the first team to defend the cup. A raft of changes were made to each line-up and some heavy-hitters were brought in to secure Nash the coveted back-to-back victory. But it was Eagle Blue Captain Nowell who won the toss and controlled the match from the onset. Electing to bat, his team put on an impressive 7/148 which The Rockatoos simply couldn't match. Shane Ettridge's heroics for 55 (51) not out steered them to victory after Josh Dolman was bowled for a Golden Duck midway through the innings.

View the full scorecard from the 2017 Boxing Day Cup here.